CaringHarts Ministry

1068 Butler Drive

Crystal Lake,IL

(815) 793-3325

Copyright 2017, Caring Harts Ministry. All Rights Reserved

If you’ve just set a date for your wedding, this can be an exciting time for the two  of you!  Don’t le the marriage license laws of Illinois put a dent in your wedding plans.

Here’s what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Illinois marriage license.  We recommend getting this legal aspect of  your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.

Requirements may vary as each COUNTY in Illinois could have their own requirements.

ID Requirement:

Show proof of age and identification.  Acceptable documents are: driver’s license, state id card, passport, military id card, Illinois Department of Public Aid card.

If you do not have any of these, two the following will be accepted:  certified copy of your birth certificate, baptismal record with birth date, foreign passport, naturalization papers, US resident alien card, life insurance policy in effect for one year with your birth date, all consulate id cards.  Affidavits not accepted.

Residency Requirement: You do not have to be a resident of Illinois.  Waiting Period in Illinois:  24 Hours to get married.  Previous Marriages:  You must provide a certified copy of your divorce if you have been divorced with the the last 6 months.  Fees in Illinois:  Please check with the County you wish to be married in. Proxy Marriages:  NO.  Cousin Marriages:  Yes, first cousins may marry if they are older than the age of 50.  Common Law Marriages: NO.  Same Sex Marriage:  No. However, effective June 2011, same-sex couples have spousal rights through civil unions.  Marriage in Illinois is still limited to a man and a woman. The spousal rights include” such things as hospital visitation, making health-care decisions, and matters concerning probate of a partner’s estate.  Under 18:  If you are 16 or 17 years of age, you will have to provide a copy of your birth certificate along with some other sort of identification showing your date of birth.  You will also need to have the sworn consent from each parent, each legal guardian or a judge- in person-before the county clerk at the time of application.  Your parents or guardians will need to provide identification like a diver’s license, state identification card, Illinois Department of Public Aid card, or passport.  If your parent is deceased, you will need to show a death certificate or proof or guardianship, or a court order waiving consent.  A legal guardian will also need to show a certified copy of the guardianship papers.  If you are under sixteen(16) years of age, you cannot get married in Illinois.  License is valid for 60 days only in the county in which it was issued.

Here are some of the Counties that we service:


Boone County Clerk                DuPage County Clerk                Kendall County Clerk                                                              

Belvidere, IL                              Wheaton, IL                                   Yorkville, IL                                                                                   

815-544-3103                            630-682-7035                              630-553-4104


Cook County Clerk                  Winnebago County Clerk         McHenry County Clerk

Chicago, IL                                 Rockford, IL                                  Woodstock, IL

312-603-7788                           815-319-4250                               815-334-4242


DeKalb County Clerk              Lake County Clerk                      Kane County Clerk

Sycamore, IL                               Waukegan, IL                                Geneva, IL

815-895-7149                            847-377-2400                               630-232-5950




We also service the Southern Part of Wisconsin